Girls Like All of us

I'm so Moody, I'm: The current mood of bluestarhalo@diaryland.com at www.imood.com

Girls like me aren't hard to find

We grow like roses on the vine

And wear our hearts on our sleeves

You probably know a girl like me.

We live alone and in our heads

We eat standing up or in our beds

Guilt and fear merge easily

In the quiet souls of girls like me.

And loneliness is like a cold,

common and no cure, we're told

We take to bed perchance to dream,

in the blue light of the TV screen.

Girls like me like summer light

and a cold beer on a summer night.

And boys who aren't afraid of what they see

Inside the eyes of girls like me.

And hopefulness is like a drug

it makes a girl believe in love

And if somehow you love us back,

we think there's something wrong with that.

Girls like me aren't hard to trust

your deepest secret's safe with us

And when it's time we set you free

You can always count on girls like me.

It's good to know a girl like me.

You used to love a girl like me.

-by Mary Chapin Carpenter

May 12, 2004 5:20 p.m.



prev|current|next