Movies

I'm so Moody, I'm: The current mood of bluestarhalo@diaryland.com at www.imood.com

I have seen a couple very odd movies recently. Each one sort of restored my faith in Hollywood... although for different reasons. When I was over in California I caught a late night showing of Secretary on HBO. I'd never seen it, but I had heard about it, so I watched it. Mostly because I always have had some perverse pleasure in watching James Spader. Anyway, Maggie Glynenhall was really spectacular in it. I totally bought her as the mousy, screwed up, submissive in training. That films has a lot of startling images in it, really. They stay with you.

Another movie I caught was called 8 Women and it's french with subtitles. Very bizarre who-done-it type of film that involved each character singing a song right in the middle of everything. At first it's slightly off setting, to see these french women singing in the middle of this movie, but after a while I found myself really like it. The colors and cinematography was incredible. I can still remember what each woman wore and what she looked like. Weird, huh?

The other movie I watched was just recently. I caught it on IFC, I think. It was called 'Angel at My Table' and it was about the life of this famous female author from New Zealand. Except of course, I'd never heard of her. But I was just sucked into the story. It was directed by Jane Campion (she did the Piano) and I just thought it was a great, natural, woman-centric picture. Not overly political or anything, but still female oriented all the same. Campion is the one who did Portrait of An Artist, isn't she? Anyway, I thought this movie was a much better insight into how a writer thinks and feels. The author was such a social misfit, that I couldn't help but feel for her. Maybe a part of me identified, I can't say. But it really is a compelling film. Y'all should rent it.

So speaketh me.

Happy sunday everyone.

January 04, 2004 12:01 p.m.



prev|current|next