Mental is in judgemental, you know

I'm so Moody, I'm: The current mood of bluestarhalo@diaryland.com at www.imood.com

Why do people have to be small minded and narrow? Why do they have to suck the joy out of life, just by breathing?

And why do said people have to make the rest of us or even half of the rest of us, feel less than dirt for not believing in the same thing they do?

Why does it always seem that those who are pious and 'god-fearing' are also those who enjoy life the least? what is it about religion that warps people down and sucks the beauty out of life for them? Shouldn't god be about enjoying life? Why wait to have all your fun, after you die?

Why does love and enjoyment in things scare some people? Do they think they will get too carried away if they have that piece of chocolate, dance to that driving beat, kiss in that moonlit field? Why is everything lines and forms and doing things the moral (laugh) way the only way to do things?

I watched the movie Chocolate the other day, never my favorite really- I saw it once, enjoyed myself a bit and that was it, but yesterday, as I watched it, it struck me that there are basically two types (well, okay, maybe three) of people in the world- those that indulge and enjoy life and those that do not. For whatever reason.

True I may not be out there indulging in every whim that crosses my fancy, but I don't hold grudges against those who do. I believe in freedom of expression, freedom of thought and say let people live their lives. Why is that so hard for certain people to comprehend?

Why do the haves constantly wage wars with the have-nots?

My parents- clear Bush supporters, are talking about Iraq like it will be the next Vietnam. And I sit there resolutely and do not say- well, gee- told you so... well, gee.. it was important for Mr.Bush to have his little war, now wasn't it? What scares me is that even with this continuing flim-flam of a 'just action' againt Iraq, Bush will still get re-elected because quite frankly, the democrats have no one to even come close to him. I'm a democrat and even I don't like any of them. Of the two front runners, one is Bush hidden in liberal clothing and the other is...well, I don't know what to do with the other one.

I don't know why I got all political with this post.....guess it was boiling under there somewhere.

Anyway- buy some chocolate, go make love under a tree in broad daylight and tell the prying eyes of the world to kiss off in the air.

Singing the Violent Femmes will also work.



June 27, 2003 8:28 a.m.



prev|current|next