stones awakening

I'm so Moody, I'm: The current mood of bluestarhalo@diaryland.com at www.imood.com

I had a moment of Zen the other day..

my dad, well, actually both my parents, totally republican down to their little toes, voted for Bush and well, I didn't. I make no apology's for this. I wasn't exactly Gore's biggest fan but in the end I went with the lesser of evils. C'est La Vie. What's really funny now though is my dad is bitching about Bush like no tomorrow and I can only smirk and smile politely and say, hey- don't blame me, blame Florida. :D

Truth of the matter is I don't think this country would know what to do with real leadership. I mean as a whole, we really do bitch about everything. Which is our great yaya and our great nono. Sometimes I marvel at the stupidity of other people.... and then I know for sure how everything got to be as crappy as it is, people let it happen.

So what to do? Give up, crawl under a rock and hope it goes away? Yeah. Great. Except, not going to happen. I try to stay informed and make my decisions based on what I believe. I guess that's the most anyone can do. I give money to the things I believe are best- Amnesty, Planned Parenthood, etc.

Is it enough? Probably not, but it does help me feel better than a useless lemming, which if you listen to the international press most people seem to think Americans are.

I don't think we should go to war. But, we probably will because Bush Jr. wants to avenge Bush Sr. And yes, I'm sure he could fill a page with "political" reasons of why he should, but in the end it comes down to school yard bullying, doesn't? It's little boys playing with their guns and bombs. The only problem is is we, the world, get caught in the middle and the aftermath. I just hope there is something left when they've finished playing their war games.

Because even though my life is sort of crappy right now, I still want it, I still love it and I still fiercely need it. It's not time to be under a rock.

It never has been.



2002-10-08 5:42 a.m.



prev|current|next