pass the Silver Centrum

I'm so Moody, I'm: The current mood of bluestarhalo@diaryland.com at www.imood.com

Yesterday I drove around in an 80's flavored Pink Cadillac.

No. Not really, but it felt like it. Ever dig out those old cd's or albums you're afraid to admit you really have?

I did that yesterday and drove home to Billy Joel. Not high on the cool list these days, he nonetheless had quite a little hit collection 'back in the day'. Something about Tell Her About It and Only the Good Die Young and The Piano Man is comforting. He's like my comfort food. I can turn on the cd and be whisked away back to 1986 or 1987 and remember where and how I was.

Get this: I'm so old that when I went to college no one had any computers. NO ONE HAD A PC in their dorm room. Hardly no one. I mean, hell, I had an old run on dos only machine that was pretty much only used for cheesy dos games like Family Feud and Wheel of Fortune. I mean, they didn't have graphics people! But anyway, when I read some of these diaries around here with people in college everyone has their computer in their room with their AIM's turned on to take messages. Eek. I remember when people would you know, actually get up and walk to you door and leave a note, like you know, with paper. Or they would call your extension. Which if you didn't have a machine you wouldn't get anyway. No one had cell phones either (definitely something that should of stayed that way, you ask me) so no text messaging or anything!

Man. I feel like a grandma.

Anyway, my point is.. I sort of lost it, but sometimes there are those things you can drag out to remind you of differnt times. And sometimes that's good to get lost inside a memory. It helps relive stress in a way. Check your mind off and travel back a decade or so.

Lord knows I never thought I'd be where I am today, right now, back then. Life has a way of happening when you're busy making other plans, this has always been true.

But why do I have to feel so old?!



2002-10-09 5:29 a.m.



prev|current|next