I ain't gonna go blind, from the light that is reflected

I'm so Moody, I'm: The current mood of bluestarhalo@diaryland.com at www.imood.com

Now listening to, for some strange reason: Stereo MC's/Connected

So something occurred to me as I was laying in bed, wide awake at 3am. You know how at the Oscars they kept reminding everyone that Sophia Coppola was the first American FEMALE director to be nominated for Best Director? Well, anyway, if you didn't notice or even watch the Osacrs, I swear every git from here to Podunk, USA kept mentioning it like it was the greatest fucking thing. But really, if you look at it, it's not.

I mean, have they checked the bloody calender lately? It's the year 2004. 2004. And this is the FIRST time an american woman has directed something worthy of a nomination?! Bullshit. If I were the Academy I'd be ashamed of the fact and not be mentioning it to people, ya know? But that's me.

This is how my mind works at 3am, by the way. Totally pointless facts that go into the ether and disconnect...

No bad marks against Lost in Translation, which I loved, but really, there have to have been women before Sophia 'my father is a director' Coppola that deserved the nod, you know?

God, I swear, sometimes I feel like a second class citizen just because I have a uterus and not a friggin penis.

Can't wait for the google hits on that one.



March 05, 2004 5:57 p.m.



prev|current|next