Your life is a story. Start telling it.

I'm so Moody, I'm: The current mood of bluestarhalo@diaryland.com at www.imood.com

So I went and saw Big Fish and Mona Lisa Smile today. I cried my eyes out at the first one, for some reason. It really hit me on some emotional plane. I think it's the best movie Tim Burton has ever did and seriously, Ewan Macgregor could charm the knickers off a corpse.

If he wanted to, anyway.

But yeah, Mona Lisa Smile wasn't that bad. I'm not sure what I expected. The most true and NON-Patriarchal moment in the entire flick was when the Betty character (Kristen Dunst) is yelling at Giselle (Maggie Glynehall) about being a whore for sleeping around and how the person she's seeing doesn't love her, how he hates her and you just know that she's really talking about herself and in fact, the Giselle character just saw Betty's husband cheating on her. Now in any other normal movie, you'd expect the Giselle character to strike out at the Betty character- shove it in her face really, about the fact that she knows Betty's life isn't all it's cracked up to be... but she doesn't. In what had to be one of the most true and touching scenes I've seen in a long time, she just goes to her and hugs her. She doesn't throw it in her face or get angry. She just... loves her. And I just felt this pride for being a woman at that. I'm not sure why. Maybe because it shows that not all female relationships are based on pettiness and hurting. Maybe because it showed that sisterhood is and can be, powerful.

It was a small, yet golden moment for me. And I've taken Feminist Critique of the Cinema, so I know what I'm talking about.

That said, I was a bit peeved at some of the other characters and their fakeness, but what are you going to do with a 2 hour movie?



January 31, 2004 8:09 p.m.



prev|current|next