Drum Roll: Return to semi-consciousness

I'm so Moody, I'm: The current mood of bluestarhalo@diaryland.com at www.imood.com

Have you noticed how the world seems to be obsessed with having white teeth? I'm sure you've seen the commercials lately... New Colgate with Whitening...New Crest with Whitening Formula! New Pearly White tape! New Oh MY GOD I HAVE A STAIN ON MY MOLAR Peel!

The most offending of these, to me, is the marriage-couple commercial. Have you seen it? Supposedly 100 couples, about to tie the proverbial knot, were given these tiny bottles of teeth miracle to see if having teeth whiter than snow would enhance their nuptial experience. I quote one of the 'participants': "It's great because when you're engaged, all you do is smile.' If that statement weren't nauseating enough, she then kisses said intended hubby to be and they smooch, oh so fucking brilliantly and flash their oh so fucking sparkling teeth to the camera.

I believe Soleil Moon Frye summed it up when she sang.. "Like Gag me with a spoon."

What the heck is wrong with this world that white teeth is the answer to all our problems? Do you often look at people's smiles and think, man...get some whitening! and fast! I think not.

Let me tell you, if you're staring at yourself in the mirror and all you can bitch about is the semi-drabiness of your molars, then honey, you have bigger problems then dull teeth, let me tell you.

I'm going to go dunk down some coffee... smoke a cigarette and rub koolaid all over my teeth. Screw corporate America or whoever it is that decided what it is we need shoved down our throats.

Pffffffbbbb.

(note on the layout- pictures above are mine, taken by me a million years ago, in chicago.)



July 13, 2003 1:55 a.m.



prev|current|next