World goes around

I'm so Moody, I'm: The current mood of bluestarhalo@diaryland.com at www.imood.com

I ran into someone the other night, on line, that I hadn't talked to in a year, I think. I sort of bailed on her as a friend. Well, to be fair I don't think I was ever really a friend, I was more like a rag for her to dump all her troubles on to. She never listened to me about me, we always seemed to talk about her and her life. I was always supposed to be the sage one- the one who would listen and give the world saving advice. And while that was flattering for awhile (I'm not going to lie) it also got very... old. I started noticing all the ways she was selfish and self-centered. And then when one of her friends insulted me and she stood by that, I said so long, see you later, not in this life, bye bye and cut off contact.

WEll, anyway- so she im's me out of the blue and suddenly we're back as if a whole year and half hasn't gone by- we're talking about her and her problems. And in 10 minutes I know all about her pregnacy she had and how she lost the baby. She tells me all this in this off-handed sort of way that I guess I was supposed to respond to, but I just couldn't. I mean, what would possess you to tell someone you haven't spoken to in ages all about the most intimate things in your life, 5 minutes after meeting them again?

Anyway, it left me feeling hollow and uncaring, but I just couldn't get caught up in the drama that is her life anymore. I need someone who's going to care about me as I care about them, not someone who just wants to dump on me.

Sigh. I don't know. It was very...odd.

July 01, 2003 10:54 a.m.



prev|current|next