A geek, and proud of it.

I'm so Moody, I'm: The current mood of bluestarhalo@diaryland.com at www.imood.com

I am so tired right now that I think my eyelids cracked when I opened them.

But wow... if it is ever within your ability to go to a MIDNIGHT book release party, please do so. It's...incredible. It was so much fun and I don't even have a kid. There were kids everywhere, but the funny thing is, is they were so well behaved. Nobody was rude or pushy or anything. Just people excited about the book. I really couldn't believe it. There was such a festive, happy anticipatory feel to the air- most of the kids dressed up, and some of them totally went all out! It did my heart good to see kids so turned on by a book. Not a movie, not a video game, but a good, old-fashioned, use your brain, BOOK.

You can't help but walk away from all of that without some form of hope for the world and the future, because of that...

As for the book itself.. OH MY GOD. That's all I will say. I'm on Chapter 7 (I stayed up until 3am or so, reading) and it is by far the most amazing thing I've read. I think, for die hard fans, this book will be the best thing since sliced bread. I'm not sure how a normal fan would react, I'll have to wait till my mom reads it for that. But I know I was gasping and saying 'oh my god!' every other page.....

The fun part was the adults that totally got into it- whether it was because they had kids or were just fans. I had a lot of great conversations with people, while I stood in line to get my number. It's nice to see people obsess about the same things I do, unabashedly. :)

It really makes you feel like you're not alone and that.. is a beautiful thing.



June 21, 2003 9:46 a.m.



prev|current|next