highlights from the front yard

I'm so Moody, I'm: The current mood of bluestarhalo@diaryland.com at www.imood.com

You know I don't think we're tired of hearing about September 11th per se.. but I do think we're tired of the media in this country pushing it at us in all directions.

They never give up do they? Do they really think America is stuck in their homes watching the same scenes over and over again? I know I wasn't. I know no one was paying attention at either of my breaks today at work. So far pretty much all the people I have talked to have concluded that they're just tired of hearing about it. So who are the media playing to? Why are they talking if not to hear themselves talk. As if we care about their opinions. Just because they have a mic and an earphone in their ear. Further more I don't think rehashing harmful images and making families cry on air does anything to honor the memory of those who lost their lives. It only ends up desensitizing everything.

What's interesting is that if this tragedy had occurred anywhere else in the world this big of deal would not have been made. And if you believe that not to be true, then you haven't been paying attention the last 10 years. America is a great many things. It's also as ego-centric as hell. And that's the truth.

But enough of this. I didn't mean to add to the noise. I tried to find peace in the blue of the sky today. Lose my thoughts in the fluffiness of the clouds that peppered the horizon as I drove into work. It's another day. And tomorrow is another day and the one after that and the one after that.... it goes on, life does. It's a blessing and a curse.

2002-09-11 6:37 p.m.



prev|current|next